Standing Committees

There are five standing committees; committees will select a committee chair each year to organize and facilitate regular meetings.

The Executive Committee is responsible for leadership of the Society including organizing and facilitating board and business meetings and consists of the President, Vice President/President-Elect, Treasurer, and Secretary. All standing committees will report regularly to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee selects winners of the Early Career Ethnobiologist Award and solicits nominations for elected board positions and members to sit on the committee for selecting the Distinguished Ethnobiologist Award. The Executive Committee also appoints editors and appointed board members.
The Annual Planning Committee focuses on conference organization and processes related to the awards and fellowships. The committee includes one member of the Executive Committee, the Conference Coordinator, the Awards Coordinator, the Fellowship Coordinator, and the Office Manager. The committee organizes sub-committees for Society awards, except the Ethnobiology Mentor Award and the Early Career Ethnobiologist Award. The Annual Planning Committee works closely with the local committee responsible for organizing the annual conference.

The Student Board organizes student events and initiatives and engages student award winners. The Board, consisting of both undergraduate and graduate students, elects a chair and vice chair annually who report to the Executive Committee. The Student Board is responsible for soliciting and reviewing nominations for the Ethnobiology Mentor Award as well as selecting the annual recipient of the award.

The Engagement Committee is responsible for internal and external community engagement. The group serves to publicize Society events, calls for awards, and publications. The committee is populated by one member of the Executive Committee, the three elected Promotion and Outreach Coordinators (Student Engagement, Publicity and Community Engagement, and Membership Development), the Publications Liaison, and the Web and Social Media Liaison.

The Council of Ambassadors includes two Executive Committee members and the Indigenous and International ambassadors. The role of the Council is to engage communities who have interests in participating in the Society in ways that expand the local impact and cultural reach of the Society.